Nasarawa United ended Kano Pillars’ 12 years and 202 unbeaten home run streak on Sunday following a  2-1 shocking defeat of the reigning Globacom Nigerian Professional Football League (NPFL) at Sani Abacha Stadium, Kano. Nasarawa United stunned the host with two quick goals from Mannir Ubale and Yaro Bature in the 12th and 16th minutes before skipper, Rabiu Ali pulled one back for the home side while the visitors held on to snatch the famous victory.

The defeat sparked off media frenzy with fans hailing the club as well as league organizers for the records. The management of the club hailed itself, the victorious Nasarawa side and the league management. “Kudos to @pillarsfc for going 202 games without a loss at home, more kudos to @NUFCLafia for doing the impossible in Kano. Up @LMCNPFL,” it declared.

Until the Nasarsawa conquest, the Masu Gida’s excellent home records had stretched 12 years and 44 days, making Sani Abacha Stadium a formidable fortress for Pillars. The last team to beat Kano Pillars at the venue in the Nigerian premier football league was Julius Berger FC with a similar 2-1 victory on June 21, 2003.

By Olisemeka Obeche


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: