As Sunshine Stars go top of the Nigerian Professional Football League (NPFL) after a 2-0 victory against Sharks on Thursday, the club’s star striker, Tunde Adeniji equally climbed top of the league’s scoring chart with 12 goals.

Adeniji struck in the 68th minute to seal victory for the Akure Gunners, thus overtaking Heartland’s prolific striker Bright Ejike who has found the targets 11 times so far. Both strikers are battling hard to beat the all-time 23 goals record set by Mfon Udoh last season for Enyimba.

Following Adeniji and Ejike are the duo of Warri Wolves and Abia Warriors strikers’ Gbolahan Salami and Chisom Chikata who have scored nine goals each. Both strikers scored a brace each for their respective clubs on Wednesday to take their goals’ haul to nine each.

Shuaibu Ibrahim (Giwa), Ndifreke Effiong (Abia Warriors), Esosa Igbinoba (Nasarawa United) and Ibrahim Mustapha (El Kanemi) all have each fired eight goals.

Giwa FC’s Ocheme Edoh has seven goals to his credit so far, while Christian Obiozor (Enyimba) and Godwin Obaje (Wikki), who scored a goal in his team’s 2-1 loss to 3SC on Wednesday, are on six goals each.

The following players have scored five goals each: Adamu Mohammed (Pillars), Mubarak Umar (Wikki), Yusuf Jaiyeola (Sharks), Ifeanyi Egwin (Dolphins FC), Onoriode Odah (Rangers) and Rabiu Ali (Pillars).

By Olisemeka Obeche


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: