Super Eagles chief coach

Super Eagles chief coach, Stephen Okechukwu Keshi has retained eight home-based players in his training camp ahead of the June 13 Africa Cup of Nations qualifier against Chad.

The players who survived Keshi’s eviction are two goalkeepers – Daniel Akpeyi and Ikechukwu Ezenwa ; three defenders – Azubuike Egwuekwe, Solomon Kwambe and Chima Akas , while Bright Onyedikachi is the only retained midfielder.

Strikers, Gbolahan Salami and Ikechukwu Gabriel completed the eight-member home-based hit squad that would vie with 15 foreign based players for the team selection for the Super Eagles’ opening 2017 Africa Cup of Nations qualifier against Chad in Kaduna.

Super Eagles Polo

Decamped players are:

Goalkeeper: Chidiebere Eze (Gabros International)

Defenders:  Chibuzor Okonkwo (Gabros International); Idris Aloma (Enyimba FC); Nelson Ogbonnaya (Heartland FC); Chinedu Udoji (Enyimba FC); Samuel Olabisi (FC Taraba); Kunle Odunlami (Sunshine Stars).

Midfielders: Nathaniel Joseph (Sharks FC); Michael Egbeta (Warri Wolves); Rabiu Ali (Kano Pillars); Igbinosa Esosa (Nasarawa United); Moses Ekpai Ubong (Kano Pillars); Henlong Charles (Giwa FC).

Forwards: Mfon Udoh (Enyimba FC); Ibrahim Shaibu (Giwa FC); Joe Omale (Dekina Dragons); Stanley Dimgba (Warri Wolves); Ezekiel Mbah (Kano Pillars); Onoriode Odah (Enugu Rangers); Azeez Shobowale (Kano Pillars).

Eagles Full List

Goalkeepers: Vincent Enyeama (Lille OSC, France), Daniel Akpeyi (Warri Wolves) & Ikechukwu Ezenwa (Sunshine Stars).

Defenders: Godfrey Oboabona (Rizespor FC, Turkey); Kenneth Omeruo (Middlesbrough FC, England); Solomon Kwambe (Warri Wolves); Chima Akas (Sharks FC); Azubuike Egwuekwe (Warri Wolves); Leon Balogun (Darmstadt 98, Germany); William Troost-Ekong (FC Dordrecht, The Netherlands); Kingsley Madu (AS Trencin, Slovakia).

Midfielders: Ogenyi Onazi (SS Lazio, Italy); John Ogu (Hapoel Be’er Sheva); Babatunde Michael (Volyn Lutsk, Ukraine); Rabiu Ibrahim (AS Trencin, Slovakia); Anderson Esiti (Estoril FC, Portugal); Steven Ukoh (Biel-Bienne FC, Switzerland) and Bright Onyedikachi.

Forwards: Ahmed Musa (CSKA Moscow, Russia); Aaron Samuel (Guangzhou R & F, China); Odion Ighalo (Watford FC, England); Gbolaham Salami (Warri Wolves) and Okechukwu Gabriel.

By Olisemeka Obeche


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: