Nigeria’s England-based trio of Odion Ighalo, John Obi Mikel and Victor Moses have been re-called to the Super Eagles squad for the friendly internationals against Cameroon and the Democratic Republic of the Congo.

The three players were left out of the 2017 Africa Cup of Nations qualifier in Tanzania owing to different reasons by Nigeria head coach Sunday Oliseh.

Moses was left out due to a knock he nursed while Oliseh explained that Chelsea midfielder Mikel refused to answer his calls or respond to his text message. But Ighalo was surprisingly left out of the team last month, despite scoring on his EPL debut against Everton.

The surprise call-up to the Nigerian senior national team is a former under-20 player, Abdullahi Shehu.

Six players from the Nigerian Professional Football League (NPFL) were included in the squad list released by Coach Sunday Oliseh over the weekend. Goalkeepers Femi Thomas and Ikechukwu Ezenwa join the battle for the gloves with Vincent Enyeama and Carl Ikeme.

Outfield players from the Nigerian league are Chima Akas, Austin Obaroakpo, Paul Onobi and Prince Aggreh.

Nigeria’s Super Eagles will play DR Congo on October 8 while Cameroon will be next three days later in Belgium. The tune-up matches are part of the pre-Fifa World Cup qualifier against the winners between Djibouti and Swaziland in November.

The squad list:

Goalkeepers: Vincent Enyeama (Lille OSC, France); Carl Ikeme (Wolverhampton Wanderers, England); Ikechukwu Ezenwa (Sunshine Stars); Femi Thomas (Enyimba FC)

Defenders: Leon Balogun (FSV Mainz 05, Germany); Abdullahi Shehu (Uniao da Madeira, Portugal); Elderson Echiejile (AS Monaco, France); Chima Akas (Sharks FC); Godfrey Oboabona (Caykur Rizespor, Turkey); William Troost Ekong (FK Haugesund, Norway); Kenneth Omeruo (Kasimpasa SK, Turkey); Austin Obaroakpo (Abia Warriors)

Midfielders: Ogenyi Onazi (SS Lazio, Italy); Paul Onobi (Sunshine Stars); Obiora Nwankwo (Coimbra FC, Portugal); John Obi Mikel (Chelsea FC, England); Rabiu Ibrahim (AS Trencin, Slovakia)

Forwards: Ahmed Musa (CSKA Moscow, Russia); Emmanuel Emenike (Al Ain, UAE); Sylvester Igbonu (FC UFA, Russia); Moses Simon (KAA Gent, Belgium); Victor Moses (West Ham United, England); Odion Ighalo (Watford FC, England); Prince Aggreh (Sunshine Stars).

By Olisemeka Obeche (with agency reports )


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: