President Muhammadu Buhari and Mr Godwin Emefiele, Governor, Central Bank of Nigeria are among over 2,500 participants across the globe, expected to participate in a virtual Banking and Finance Conference being organised by the Chartered Institute of Bankers of Nigeria (CIBN).

Mr. Patrick Akinwuntan, Chairman, Consultative Committee of 13h Annual Banking and Finance Conference and Managing Director, Ecobank Nigeria, said the both Buhari and Emefiele were among the dignitaries of the event.  According to him, the CBN Governor would serve as the Chief Host of the conference while Mr Bayo Olugbemi, CIBN President would be the host.

Akinwuntan said that the conference with the theme: “Facilitating a Sustainable Future: The Role of Banking and Finance” will hold between September 15 and 16.

He said that in view of the COVID-19 pandemic, this year’s edition of the conference will be executed using the hybrid of virtual and physical platforms, with strict adherence to the preventive protocols against the spread of the pandemic. “While over 2,500 participants across the globe are expected to participate virtually, there will be two physical locations for the conference,’’ Akinwuntan said.

He said that the Congress Hall, Transcorp Hilton Hotel, Abuja, and the Ijewere Hall of the Bankers House, Victoria Island, Lagos would be locations for the conference.

According to him, the conference will feature five Business and two Break-out sessions. It will provide participants a platform to connect with other professionals and industry stakeholders across the world.

The conference chairman further said that the conference would brainstorm on strategic issues that are critical to building a sound and sustainable financial ecosystem and economy.

Akinwuntan said the resolutions at the event would be made available to relevant stakeholders and policymakers to enable them to reappraise and align their operations and strategies in line with global best practices.

Other dignitaries expected at the event are President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo of the Republic of Ghana, and Nigeria’s Senate President, Ahmed Lawan, House of Representatives Speaker, Femi Gbajabiamila, Gov. Babajide Sanwo-Olu of Lagos, Mrs. Zainab Ahmed, Minister of Finance, Mr Mohammed Musa, FCT Minister.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: