The Nigerian National Petroleum Corporation (NNPC) on Thursday released names of 15 new Group General Managers (GGMs) promoted earlier this week to run the corporation’s subsidiaries and business units.

Some of the new GGMs include: Mr. Mele Kyari (Crude Oil Marketing Division COMD); Mr. Ahmadu Sambo (NNPC Oilfield Services); Dr. Surajdeen Bola Afolabi (ITD/SAP); Mr. Zubair Aliyu (NNPC Capital); Mr. Dafe Sejebor (Nigerian Petroleum Investment Management Services (NAPIMS); Mrs. Kemi Akitoye (Human Resources Division); Mr. Godwin C. Okonkwo (Finance); Mr. Bello Rabiu (Corporate Planning Division); Mr. Anibo Kragha (Treasury) and Mr. Dalhatu Makama, Shipping (Nidas & Nikorma).

Others appointed are: Mr. Samuel Ndukwe (Power); Mr. Mike Balami (GGM, Accounts); Mr. Yusuf Matashi (LNG); Mr. Rabiu Suleiman (Engineering & Technology) and Dr. Olubunmi Oyetunde; (Medical).

NNPC management has also offered official explanation for the gale of sacks that resulted in the exit of about 38 of its senior managers as well as the reduction of 122 managerial offices to 84.

According to a statement signed by NNPC spokesperson, Ohi Algebe, the development was part of the ongoing restructuring the NNPC into a lean, efficient, and business-focused organisation. According to him, those who were billed to retire between August and December next year were asked to go as a cost-saving measure. “The exercise, apart from gearing the Corporation in the direction of a leaner and more efficient organisation, has enormous cost-saving benefits,” he explained.

By Olisemeka Obeche


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: