Five-time world champions, Nigeria, must successfully negotiate a tricky Group B that includes Morocco, South Africa and Zambia to be eligible for a spot at this year’s FIFA U-17 World Cup finals in Peru.

At the draw ceremony conducted inside the Cercle Nationale d’Armee in Algiers, yesterday, host nation, Algeria, birthed in Group A and must be in attrition with Senegal, Congo and Somalia. Cameroun, Mali, Burkina Faso and South Sudan make up Group C.

Nigeria, who are champions of WAFU B zone and are coached by former Nigeria FIFA U-17 World Cup winner, Nduka Ugbade, will contest their games in the city of Constantine. Group A will make home in Algiers, while Annaba welcomes the teams in Group C.

All four top-placed teams at the tournament, now scheduled for April 29 to May 19, will qualify to fly Africa’s flag at the FIFA U-17 World Cup in Peru later this year.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: