President Muhammadu Buhari has named Professor Itse Sagay, a professor of Law and civil rights activist as the head of the seven-member Presidential Advisory Committee on the war against corruption.

The Committee’s brief is to advise the present administration on the prosecution of the war against corruption and the implementation of required reforms in Nigeria’s criminal justice system, a statement by Femi Adesina, the Special Adviser to the President, Media and Publicity, said.

This is the President’s first major move in his bid to effectively use the relevant institutions of state to fight corruption.

Other members of the Committee which is also expected to develop comprehensive interventions for achieving recommended reforms are:  Professor Femi Odekunle, Professor of Criminology, Ahmadu Bello University, Dr. (Mrs) Benedicta Daudu, Associate Professor of International Law, University of Jos , Prof. E. Alemika, Professor of Sociology, University of Jos, Professor Sadiq Radda, Professor of Criminology, Bayero University, Kano, Hadiza Bala Usman, Civil Society Activist and Professor Bolaji Owasanoye, Nigerian Institute of Advanced Legal Studies  who will serves as the Executive Secretary of the Committee.

The statement further said, “In support of the Federal Government’s efforts, an Anti-Corruption and Criminal Justice Reform Fund has been established by three international development partners namely the Ford Foundation, MacArthur Foundation and Open Society Foundation.

“The $5 million fund is to assist implementation of key components of the Action Plan and the work of the Presidential Advisory Committee.

“The fund will be managed by Trust Africa, an international development Civil Society Organisation with programme presence in more than 25 African countries.”


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: