After weeks of speculations, President Muhammadu Buhari on Wednesday unveiled the ministers and their portfolios, springing surprises in his choices.

President Buhari, in a rare move, reduced the miniseries to 24 with some ministers assigned as minister of state.

Addressing the new ministers, President Buhari said he was optimistic that bringing these set of ministers is a step in the right direction. “This is another milestone in my administration. Our new ministers must proceed to work speedily and justify their inclusion. Government business is now being conducted with transparency and sincerity.”

He said his administration was determined to diversify the economy with agriculture to achieve self sufficiency.


Below is the list of new ministers and their portfolios:

Aisha Abubakar (State minister for Industry, trade and Investment)

James Ocholi (State minister of Labour and Employment)

Abdulrahman Bello Dambazau (Ministers of Interior)

Dr Ibe Kachikwu (State minister for petroleum resources). Buhari remains petroleum minister.

Mustapha Baba Shehuri (State Minister for Power, Works and Housing)

Heineken Lokpobiri (State minister for Agriculture and Rural Development)

Claudius Daramola (State minister of Niger Delta)

Ibrahim Usman (State minister of Environment)

Engr Suleiman Adamu – (Minister of Water Resources)

Zainab Shamsuna Ahmed (Minister of State Budget and National Planning)

Pastor Usani Uguru (Minister of Niger Delta)

Aisha Jummai Al-Hassan (Minister of Women Affairs)

Isaac Adewole (Minister of Health)

Adebayo Shittu (Minister of Communication)

Lai Mohammed (Minister of Information)

Masur Maman Dan Ali (Minister of Defence)

Abdulrahaman Danbazau (Minister of Interior)

Udoma Udo Udoma (Minister for Budget and National Planning)

Amina Mohammed (Minister for Environment)

Hadi Sirika (Minister of Aviation)

Solomon Dalong (Minister for Youth and Sports)

Chibuike Rotimi Amaechi (Minister of Transportation)

Ogbonnaya Onu (Minister of Science and Technology)

Audu Ogbeh (Minister of Agriculture and Natural Resources)

Babatunde Raji Fashola (Minister of Power, Works & Housing)

Muhammadu Bello (Minister of Federal Capital Territory)

Kemi Adeosun (Minister of Finance)

Kayode Fayemi (Minister of Solid Minerals)

Chris Ngige (Minister of Labour and employment)

Okechukwu Enelamah (Minister of Industry and Trade)

Anthony Gozie Anwuka (State minister of Education)

Adamu Adamu (Minister of Education)

Khadija Abba Ibrahim (Minister of State Foreign Affairs)

Geoffrey Onyeama (Minister of foreign affairs)

Barrister Abubakar Malami (Minister of Justice)

By Olisemeka Obeche

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: