President BuhariPresident Muhammadu Buhari, on Thursday, issued a stern warning to newly appointed Permanent Secretaries and the entire civil service to adhere to his administration’s zero tolerance for corruption, incompetence and excesses.

The president while swearing in the 18 new Permanent Secretaries in Abuja insists that his administration will not tolerate such acts from public officials. “This administration will not condone any excesses, indifference, incompetence, and corrupt practices in any form. Permanent Secretaries are, therefore, advised to note these words of caution and disseminate them to all civil servants accordingly.

“I am sure the Permanent Secretaries and all other civil servants appreciate the fact that I have always considered the civil service as an indispensable reservoir of experience, expertise and loyalty. I, therefore, consider the service as a dependable ally in my quest to change this country for the better,” he added.

He explained why Permanent Secretaries must not be exempted from any guilt of unwholesome practices in their respective ministries. “It is within public domain that ministers as chief executives of their ministries as well as other government officials involved in policy formulation and implementation often complain of the intolerable levels of incompetence, indifference or even suspected sabotage by some of the top echelon of the civil service,” Buhari said.

He went further: “Even where Permanent Secretaries, in some instances, are exempted from these accusations, they are still responsible and liable for failing to provide the required leadership, control and direction.

President Buhari, also tasked the newly appointed Permanent Secretaries on the financial prudence, stressing that the expectations of Nigerians from the government were high, while restating his resolve to create jobs and diversify the economy.

Meanwhile sixteen out of 18 newly appointed Permanent Secretaries took oath of office on Thursday. The newly sworn in Perm Secs are: Ayotunde Adesugba, Taiwo Abidogun, Dr. Bukar Hassan, Mrs. Wakama Belema Asifieka, Mr. Jalal Ahmad Arabi, Mr. Sabiu Zakar, Mrs. Obiageli Phyllis Nwokedi, Mr. Aminu Nabegu.

Others are Mr. Alo Williams Nwankwo, Dr. Shehu Ahmed, Mr. Ogbonnaya Innocent Kalu, Mrs. Nuratu Jimoh Batagarawa, Mr. Christian Chinyeaka Ohaa, Mr. Bassey Akpanyung, Mr. Louis Edozien and Dr. Ugo Roy.

However, two other Permanent Secretaries, who were absent at the inauguration, were said to have travelled out of the country on official assignment. They are Mr. Bamgbose Olukunle Oladele and Alhaji Mahmoud Isa-Dutse.

By Olisemeka Obeche

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: