The Federal Government recalled 27 non-career ambassadors appointed by former President Goodluck Jonathan so as to pave way for President Muhammadu Buhari to present nominees that will serve his administration in that capacity.

Sources at the Presidency disclosed that those to be appointed to replace the recalled envoys would come largely from members of the governing All Progressives Congress (APC). The source said Buhari had delayed their recall all this while so as to get input from both retired Nigerian diplomats and “friendly foreign” countries on areas he should prioritize.

However, Nigeria’s Ambassador to the US, Professor Ade Adefuye will not return immediately because he is in the thick of organizing Buhari’s visit to President Barack Obama later in the month.

The source added that “it is normal routine change that occurs whenever a new government comes to power and it didn’t happen out of the blues. Those affected had been given notices for over two weeks now and in fact, many of them have been in the country already, having handed over to the appropriate offices in our missions abroad.”

Among those affected are Ojo Madueke who was posted to Canada and Bianca Ojukwu who was posted to Spain. Others are Dalhatu Tafida (UK), Professor Ade Adefuye (USA), Taofeek Arapaja (Jordan), Fidelia Njeze (Switzerland), Yemi Farounbi (Philippines), Olatokunbo Kamson (Jamaica) and Cornelius Oluwateru (UAE).

Others are Abubakar Shehu Bunu (Saudi Arabia), Chive Kaave (Argentina), Tukur Mani (Iran), Abiodun Nathaniel Olorunfemi (Namibia).

Also affected are Okwudili Nwosu (Burundi), Okeke Chukwuemeka (Vatican), Eric Aworahbi (Italy), Dauda Danladi (Pakistan), Katherine Okon (Czeck Republic), Princess Victoria Bosede Onipede (Republic of Congo), Senator Haruna Garba (Kuwait),  Nonye Rajis-Okpara (Singapore), Eddy Onuoha (Hungary), Adamu Babangida Ibrahim (Syria) and Sam Jimba (Poland).


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: