Kaduna State Governor, Mallam Nasir Ahmad El-Rufai has sacked 20 permanent secretaries from Kaduna State civil service and appointed new officials to fill some positions in his government. The governor explained in a press statement on Wednesday that the sacking of 20 top civil servants in the state was part of his cost-cutting measures and restructuring the state machinery for effective service delivery.

“This decision follows the streamlining of ministries in the state from 19 to a leaner 13, as part of efforts to free up resources to be used for providing schools, hospitals, roads and other public goods”,  the Governor said in as statement signed by Special Assistant to the Governor on Media and Publicity, Samuel Aruwan.

“The governor has conveyed his appreciation for the services the departing permanent secretaries have offered the state, and he has wished them the best in their future endeavours”, it adds.

The El-Rufai-led government had at inception declared its determination to cut costs, drive efficiency and improve service delivery. He insists in the statement that the radical reform will continue. “To ensure that the number of permanent secretaries is properly aligned with the new structure, there will be only 13 permanent secretaries for the 13 ministries.”

The surviving ministries are: (1) Justice; (2) Agriculture and Forestry; (3) Commerce, Industry and Tourism (4) Local Government and Chieftaincy Affairs as well as (5) Youth, Sports and Culture. Others include (6) Environment and Natural Resources (7) Women Affairs and Social Development (8) Water Resources (9) Health and Human Services (10) Education, Science and Technology (11) Budget and Planning (12) Finance as well as (13) Works, Housing and Transport

According to the statement, five departments in Kaduna State will be headed by permanent secretaries, thus bringing the total number of permanent secretaries in the civil service to 18.

The beneficiary departments include (1) Public Service Office; (2) Bureau of Establishments; (3) Political and Economic Affairs; (4) Cabinet and (5) Security Services and General Services.

By Olisemeka Obeche


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: