President Muhammadu Buhari has nominated the just-retired service chiefs as non-career ambassadors-designate.
In a letter to the senate on Thursday, Buhari wrote:
“In accordance with section 171 (1), (2) (c) & sub-section (4) of 1999 Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria as amended, I have the honour to forward for confirmation by the Senate, the under-listed five (5) names of nominees as Non-Career Ambassadors-Designate.”
The nominees are:
Abayomi G. Olonisakin, retired General and former chief of Defence Staff;
Tukur Y. Buratai, retired Lt-gen and former chief of Army Staff
Ibok-Ete Ibas, retired Vice-Admiral  and former Chief of Naval Staff
Sadique Abubakar, retired Air Marshal and former Chief of Air Staff
Mohammed S. Usman, retired Air Vice Marshal and former Chief of Defence
Buhari urged the senate to give “expeditious consideration” to the nominations. This is coming a week after the president replaced them as service chiefs.
In the official announcement, they were said to have resigned and then retired.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: